Friday Dec 2 iNAPS Webinar: Gina Calhoun on 'From Hospital to Community'

NYAPRS Note: A wonderful opportunity to hear more from the extraordinary Gina Calhoun, whose inspiring story and work light up last September’s NYAPRS Conference.

 

International Association of Peer Supporters (iNAPS)
Friday Webinar Reminder
View this email in your browser

Next iNAPS Webinar | This Friday


Hospital to Community: A Process of Inclusion with Gina Calhoun of the Copeland Center
Date: Friday, December 2 
Time: 9 AM PST, 10 AM MST, 11 AM CST, and 12 PM EST. 

When it's time, click here to join the live webinar.



 

 

In this 1-hour Webinar, Gina shares her personal story of transitioning from long-term institutionalization to community living, including her work as a peer support specialist during the closure of Harrisburg State Hospital in Pennsylvania.

Following Gina’s story, we will explore the role of peer support in downsizing, right sizing and closing institutional-based settings. We will explore 3 interrelated approaches to include: the Community-Hospital Integration Project Program (CHIPP); the Comprehensive Individual Treatment and Community Support Planning Process; and the essential role of Certified Peer Specialists in the hospital to community transition.

By the end of this presentation, you will be able to:

  1. Explore recovery and community integration through storytelling and data.
  2. Explain the individual, community and financial benefits of downsizing, right sizing and closing state hospitals.
  3. Relate at least 3 positive outcomes of Certified Peer Specialists on the transition team.

After 17 years of back-to-backinstitutionalization, Gina credits her journey forward in life to relationships that chose to focus onWhat’s Strong Not What’s Wrong and to meaningful employment.

Gina often says, “I didn’t get well and go to work. Work was my pathway toward wellness.” Gina was the keynote speaker at the National Olmstead Policy Academy; the Center for Medicare and Medicaid’sAll Staff Meeting and for the University of Tokyo’s Mental Health Convention, and the 2016 (10th Annual)iNAPS Annual Conference in Philadelphia, PA.