Avoiding Compassion Fatigue and Burnout for Peer Specialists: Aug 27 Webinar

DOORS TO WELLBEING 

Tuesday, August 27, 2019 

2PM ET/ 1PM CT/ 12PM MT/ 11AM PT 

Avoiding Compassion Fatigue and Burnout for Mental Health Peer Specialists 

To register:  Click Here

 

Presented by Stephanie Tellez and Adria Powles

How do we stay well while supporting people who need emotional care? This presentation will explore tools, role plays and discussions that will help mental health peer specialists build up their wellness and resilience and avoid compassion fatigue and burn out. Additionally, this presentation will include lessons learned about burnout and compassion fatigue for peer support specialists during the initial implementation of Medicaid billable peer support services in Arizona.

Learning Objectives:

  • Define compassion fatigue and burnout.

  • Recognize at least 3 common signs of compassion fatigue and burnout.

  • List at least 3 tools to minimize compassion fatigue and burnout in the workplace.

Presenters:

Stephanie Tellez is a Certified Peer Support Specialist Trainer for Workforce Development Program at University of Arizona. Stephanie is a peer, parent and family member.

Adria Powles is a Licensed Social Worker and Interim Program Director for Workforce Development at University of Arizona. Adria identifies as family member and peer supporter with 13 years of experience working with peers in behavioral health as a job developer, co-worker, and supervisor.

 

Certificates of Participation for 60 Minute Webinar Available 

Registration is FREE - but you must register to attend! 

Click Here to Register!

This flyer was developed [in part] under grant number SM062557-01 from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  The views, policies, and opinions expressed are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of SAMHSA or HHS.

 

The Copeland Center, P.O. Box 6471, Brattleboro, VT 05302